I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Geriatric Academic Career Awards

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

Who is eligible to apply...

An individual must be: (1) Board certified or Board eligible in internal medicine, family practice, or psychiatry; (2) have completed an approved fellowship program in geriatrics; and (3) have a junior faculty appointment at an accredited school of medicine or osteopathic medicine.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

Junior faculty appointment in an accredited school of medicine or osteopathic medicine. U.S. Citizen, non-citizen national or foreign national possessing a visa permitting permanent residence in the United States. Career development plan; board certified or board eligible in internal medicine, family medicine or psychiatry; and completion of approved fellowship in geriatrics.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.